An Impossible Task

lakeFive years ago God called me to an impossible task. Something I had never done, nor would I have thought to do. Write.

I shared what the Lord had impressed on my heart with only a few people; thankfully, they didn’t think I was crazy. They encouraged me, sending cards, notes, and praying for me. So I started pinning these items to my desk as a reminder of God’s call, because I had no idea what I was doing. However, I understood God knew what He was doing and this journey would take faith. So there I was, typing away with a burden to share a story I had no idea where it was heading.

As I began to follow God’s lead, a desire took hold to tell a story of a husband and wife lost in their marriage. Though Unconditional isn’t the story my husband and I faced, there are similarities. Seventeen years ago we were at the brink of divorce and no one could stop it from happening—except for God. Before entering Unconditional in the ACFW Genesis Contest, I prayed that if this story was really God’s will, He would give me a sign by letting me semi-final. Yes, I had a Gideon moment, telling God I really wasn’t a writer. Reminding Him I was the weakest writer of all. But once again a quiet voice drew me to enter.

To my surprise, Unconditional semi-finaled, and though I didn’t win, having God confirm His call was more important than any contest prize or any contract. I was reminded that stepping out in faith and following God isn’t always easy. We doubt ourselves at times, but when we trust God, He is faithful.

Unconditional is a love story of a woman, a man, and an amazing God. A year ago this month, I held my debut novel in my hands. I cried seeing my name scrolled across the cover. It’s a gift, a reminder of God’s love for me and my continual journey as an author. But most importantly, it’s a gift to my readers that they may know the unstoppable love of God, and the lengths He will go to offer grace and mercy.

Are you on a journey God has called you to? Do you doubt your own ability at times? Whether it’s writing related or not, know that your faith isn’t built on your abilities, but the character of God. He will help you accomplish any impossible task and walk alongside you in the journey.

We would love for you to join in the conversation by leaving a comment, and be entered in our January giveaway. One randomly chosen winner, selected from the comments left on all posts during the month of January, will receive a copy of the following (some in print others in ebook form.)

Laughing With Lilly and Second Chance by Eileen RifeUnconditional by Tanya Eavenson;  In the Shadow of Sinai by Carole Towriss; Yesterday’s Promise, Jewels of the KingdomA Cowboy Christmas and two beautiful jewelry pieces by Delia Latham Sweet Freedom With a Slice of Peach Cobbler by numerous authors, Heaven’s Prey by Janet Sketchley; and Enemy in the RoomTen Lies, Ten TruthsOn the Edge, and The President by Parker Hudson.

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to An Impossible Task

  1. delialatham says:

    What a beautiful, heartwarming story, Tanya! I’m so glad God intervened in your marriage, and gave you the courage to keep writing. Unconditional is now on my must-read list! 🙂

  2. I would love a chance to win. Thank you for sharing the inspiring background of Unconditional and your journey into writing.

    Blessings to you – clSwalwell@gmail.com

    in Him,

    Cheri 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Cheri! I can’t wait to see who wins this wonderful collection of books, but if you do, I’d love to know what you think about Unconditional. Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Yep, I think doubt goes with the territory . . . just every other day! 🙂 But what I’ve discovered is that self-doubt presses me deeper into a faithful God who instills me with faith to believe He can do what I see as impossible.

    • So true, Eileen. Doubt and fear can hinder us everyday from following after Christ, but like you said, it’s when we press to have a closer walk with Him, no matter the circumstances, our faith grows to do what we think is impossible. I still wonder what it felt like for Peter to walk on water. 🙂

  4. Wow, what a beautiful testimony of God’s transforming and restoring grace and also of what He can do with our obedience and surrender. I’m so glad you answered that call, because if you hadn’t, I wouldn’t even know you! What a loss to me that would have been!

  5. favoredwoman says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey into writing with us. It is very inspiring, especially to me.
    So many times we doubt our abilities sometimes because we are afraid of failing in front of the world.
    I am still learning that when God calls us, He has already deposited every wisdom and skill we need for the task . Its just like when God told Gideon(who by the way was hiding from the enemy army) to “go in this thy might” , and Gideon was wondering to himself “what might is God talking about”?
    I’m happy you believed God and acted out in faith.

    • Hi, Favoredwoman! If I’m not mistaken, we’re friends on Twitter. It’s great to see you here!

      I love Gideon’s story because I can relate. “God, you want me to write? I’m terrible at grammar and I can’t even spell without using spell check most of the time.” But God had given me other strengths and skills needed to be a writer I didn’t know I had. As you said, He always provides when we step out in faith.

      I’m so thankful I can encourage you, because you’ve encouraged me with your kind words. I’ll be praying for you as you write for Him! “The Lord is with you, mighty warrior.”

  6. jenlhall63 says:

    Amazing how God works in our lives 🙂

  7. Audrey McLaughlin says:

    Day by day, I’m learning how important it is to be tuned into God. At age 64, I finally realize that I can’t hear His message if I’m not listening…and I’m not truly listening if I’m not taking the time to focus on Him and our relationship. When my prayer life is sparse, His voice is silenced. Life’s distractions tempt me, and I’m working on that. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story of your faith journey with us! I’m delighted to be entered in your contest…but, win or not I have been touched by your words.

    • “I can’t hear His message if I’m not listening…and I’m not truly listening if I’m not taking the time to focus on Him and our relationship.”

      Audrey, this is wisdom. Wisdom we can all tuck away in our pockets or tape to our mirrors as a wonderful reminder. Thank you for sharing with us. And I’m thankful my words have blessed you, as your visit has blessed me.

  8. medazmr says:

    It was just over five years ago that I started to write. Many times I’ve questioned myself and God about whether or not it was what I should be doing, and he’s always sent encouragement my way at the right time to show me I was on the right track, too. Thanks for a great post.

    • Then I’m in great company, Medazmr! Thank you for sharing! It’s wonderful how God wants to use us and others for His glory in ways we couldn’t imagine. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  9. Diana Prusik says:

    Tanya, I love stories like yours that show us how God’s plans for our lives are often so much greater than our own. Your journey is proof that God gives us the tools necessary to complete tasks He calls us to do, if only we’ll surrender our fears and our own agenda to obey. How much more could we accomplish for His glory if we surrendered all? Thank you for this encouraging post!

  10. Renette Steele says:

    Tanya,
    Thank you so much for telling your story! You give me great hope!!!
    Many times in school my papers looked dipped in red ink, as i too can’t spell and my grammar is only fair. i often feel like Moses, full of excuses as to why i shouldn’t be the one to do this. I put it off, or write something and think that’s not good, then next thing i know Gods put something else on my mind and i just can’t let it go until i write it down. If only whats in my mind could sound as good on paper lol.
    When GOD calls you to write you must write weather anyone other than you reads it or not. It stirs around in your mind and won’t rest until you obey.
    Your story inspires me to keep listening to whatever GOD gives me to write and to not let the red ink discourage me. As Delia says learn from the red marks and strive to improve and the next draft may only be pink, and the next and the next even less until it is the way GOD wants it. I am looking for kind loving criticers to help me learn more and reading all i can. Esp. His word!
    Blessing to all of you dear ladies for teaching me so much!!!

    • Oh, Moses is a wonderful example of how we should follow God and His call, no matter what we think about ourselves.

      Recently I tweeted a quote from Ruth Bell Graham that I fell in love with right away. “I don’t want fear and inadequacy holding me back from all God has for me. I want to stand on His truth about me.”

      The truth is, through Christ we are qualified for the impossible no matter what we feel ourselves. However, it’s time like these we are able to share our thoughts and fears with each other to strengthen and assure God’s call for our lives. I’m very blessed I’ve been able to do that with you. I’m sure Delia feels the same way. =)

      So write, and know through every mountain or valley Christ is with you along the way.

      Hugs! Let me know how the writing goes and I’ll be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

