A Heart Of Fear

storm

Back in February, I was up late one night writing a post for Elaine Stock’s blog Everyone’s Story. It was difficult to say the least, spilling my heart and fears onto the page. So much so I almost didn’t send it to Elaine, but I’m glad I did, and I want to share it with you.         ~ Tanya

From Fiction to Reality

Ever had those moments when you’re reading a novel and it’s as if the author wrote the story line, the characters, or included verses just for you? When your world turns from fiction to reality by a flip of the page?

At the beginning of December I took a novel from my book shelf, snuggled on the couch with a blanket, and began to read. The title of the novel is called The Rancher’s Reunion by Tina Radcliffe. The hero in the story is Will, and he has a hereditary disease that caused him to fear, not only his future, but in trusting God. And that’s when God used this story to speak to me.

“I’m scared, Annie.”

“I know, Will. I know.” She blinked back the moisture pricking her eyes.

“No, Annie. I don’t think you do. I’m not just scared. I’m terrified.”

And I understood Will’s fear. Weeks prior to reading this novel, my doctor told me I have cancer. It’s a single word that can change the course of your life, emotionally, physically, but not only yours, others around you. And though I knew God’s presence would be with me no matter what the future held, my desire to write or edit anything had vanished. Honestly, I wasn’t sure I wanted to write anymore with my future so uncertain. I wasn’t just scared, but terrified my time with my family would be shortened.

But as I continued to read Will’s story, God’s whispered words, Do not be afraid of things you cannot control, pray, and continue your call to write, took hold and draped around my heart.

I knew at that moment this book was meant to be read at this appointed time. That God was leading me to give Him every single fear, open my laptop, and begin to write again.

It’s been three weeks since I’ve been back to writing, and editing. It’s been slow going, but I’ve given my fears to God the only way I can. Like Will and Annie’s story, doing it God’s way. Day by day. Moment by moment. For the rest of my life.

~

Since this post was written, I’ve learned that if we share our hopes, dreams, and fears with others, God will bring people right alongside us to minister when we need it most. I can’t begin to describe the emotions or the tears of thanksgiving I shed for each of the comments, prayers, or well wishes I received from this post. But I pray I can encourage you to not let your fears stand in the way of what God has in store for your life. Sometimes the road is easy. Sometimes it’s hard. Just remember God’s words in Jeremiah 29:11 when it says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Is something in your life causing you to fear the future or the unknown, and possibly keeping you from what God has in store? If so, let me encourage you because you’re not alone. Give it to God. Second by Second. Minute by Minute. He’s always there for you with waiting arms.

~~~

We at Faith-filled Friends are launching another book give-away! One randomly chosen winner, selected from the comments left on all posts published from today to May 1st, will receive a copy of the following (some in print others in ebook form.) Please note, the following is applicable to readers living in the continental US only. If a selected winner lives outside the continental US, they will receive ebooks, when available. Books that do not have e-versions will be placed back in the “gift-pot” to be sent to a randomly chosen runner-up living in the continental US.

They will receive a copy of:

Delivery by Diana Prusik, Jasmine by April McGowan, Hear No Evil by Mary Hamilton, Rodeo Hero and  Rodeo Song by Shannan Taylor VannatterAngel Falls by Connie MannThe Shepherd’s Song by Betsy Duffey and Laurie MyersMarriage Takes Three by G. E. Hamlin, and Worth the Wait by Laura Jackson.

DSC_0904Tanya Eavenson enjoys spending time with her husband, and their three children. Her favorite pastime is grabbing a cup of coffee, eating chocolate, and reading a good book. Tanya is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and writes for Christ to the World Ministries.

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Tan_eave

Website:  http://www.tanyaeavenson.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tanya Eavenson/129609683872033?ref=hl



 

This entry was posted in Novel Characters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Heart Of Fear

  1. Powerful post, Tanya! I can relate as so many readers can, I’m sure. Fear can so easily consume us, squelching our faith in God. I love a quote from the book, The Shack: “Trust is the fruit of a relationship in which you know you are loved.” How true! As our understanding, not just mental, but emotional, grows in God’s love for us, we begin to trust Him more.

    Thanks for sharing a piece of your story! Praying God will continue to use you during this difficult journey. And praying for complete healing, in His time and in His way.

  2. Elaine Stock says:

    Tanya, I’m so pleased and blessed that you’ve reposted your segment from my blog here on Faith-filled Friends. As you know from your prior experience on my blog, you’ve touched many hearts and encouraged hundreds of people and I’m happy to say that this is not an exaggeration. The responses you received were stirring. Again, I thank you for sharing your heart, and for being brave and trusting to do so.

    On this present blog post you say: “God will bring people right alongside us to minister when we need it most.” This is so true. I’ve seen God’s handiwork a few times in my life and it always amazes me in a staggering wow-He-does-love-me awesome way.

    Thanks for this reminder. I can only speak for myself, but being the mere human being I am, I’m always in need of this reminder.

    May God bless you with health and joy, and the same to all of you Faith-filled Friends.

    • Elaine, I’m glad I did too. I was blessed in countless ways and thankful you were one of those people He brought alongside me. So I know that wow-He-does-love-me-awesome-way feeling. =) Thank you sweet friend for stopping by! I’m so glad I could be an encouragement for you today!

  3. Few things can affect our emotions like health issues–our own or of those we love. Here’s hoping you’re on the mend, friend! Thanks for sharing your story with us!

Leave a Reply

