Sometimes God

“Sometimes God doesn’t answer when I pray.”

“Sometimes God seems to be a million miles away.”

“Sometimes God feels like a fairy tale to me.”

“Sometimes God doesn’t feel real. I’m not really sure He exists.”

“Sometimes God’s Word makes me wonder…is it really true?”

“Sometimes I think my prayers are useless. I know God used to work miracles (heal the sick and broken-hearted; save sinners; change lives), but times have changed. He doesn’t do those things anymore.”

And on and on it goes.

Comments like these make me wonder about the people giving them voice. I want to ask, “Are you sure you’re serving the right God?”

Religious Words on Grunge BackgroundBecause the God I serve—the one, true God—the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob…is not a “sometimes” god. The Savior of my soul is an all-the-time, absolute, immoveable, unshakeable, unchanging God. He is the same yesterday, today and forever. (James 1:17— Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.)

If your god is “sometimes” one way and “sometimes” another….sometimes there and sometimes not…sometimes kind and sometimes cruel…you’re bowing at the feet of an empty idol; wasting your time on a master who isn’t real and doesn’t care; making sacrifices to an entity that isn’t God. Worst of all, in doing those things, you’re turning away from the God who IS real; laying another stripe into the back of the One who took them for you; hammering another nail into His bleeding hands.

We all have moments when Satan tries to plant doubt in our hearts and uncertainty in our souls. But when we allow those little seeds to take root and affect our faith, it’s a sure sign we’ve taken our eyes off of Jesus. Like Peter, who actually walked on water alongside the Savior, we suddenly see—instead of the face of Almighty God—the storm around us. All the things that are wrong in the world and in our lives. All of Satan’s fiery darts flying around our heads.

That’s when, like Peter, we start to sink beneath the waves of doubt.

That’s when fear overshadows faith and we begin to wonder…bowing at the feet of a deity who isn’t real.

Perhaps a bit of self-inspection is in order. Maybe it’s time to peek into the corners of our hearts and take a look at our “god.” Are we serving the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob – the God of yesterday, today and forever – the God who never changes, is always faithful and ever true?

Or have we settled for a “sometimes” god?

Delia Latham
(c) April 2014

What about you? Has Satan tried to convince you that God isn’t real, isn’t there, doesn’t care, isn’t faithful? Have you found yourself serving a “sometimes” god? What opened your eyes? What helps you find your way back to the feet of the risen Savior?

Share your thoughts below and be entered into our May gift-basket give-away!

One randomly chosen winner, selected from the comments left on all posts published from today to May 1st, will receive a copy of the following (some in print others in ebook form.) Please note, the following is applicable to readers living in the continental US only. If a selected winner lives outside the continental US, they will receive ebooks, when available. Books that do not have e-versions will be placed back in the “gift-pot” to be sent to a randomly chosen runner-up living in the continental US.

They will receive a copy of:

Delivery by Diana Prusik, Jasmine by April McGowanHear No Evil by Mary Hamilton,Rodeo Hero and  Rodeo Song by Shannan Taylor VannatterAngel Falls by Connie MannThe Shepherd’s Song by Betsy Duffey and Laurie MyersMarriage Takes Three by G. E. Hamlin, and Worth the Wait by Laura Jackson.

DELIA LATHAMdelia is a born-and-bred California gal, raised in a place called Weedpatch and currently living in the lovely mountain town of Tehachapi with her husband and a spoiled Pomeranian. She enjoys multiple roles as Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister and friend, but especially loves being a princess daughter to the King of Kings. She has a “thing” for Dr. Pepper, and loves to hear from her readers. Contact her through her website or send an e-mail to delia@delialatham.net. Find her also at the following online locations:
Living the Write Life (blog)
Facebook
Twitter
Brushing Wings (Newsletter)

perf5.500x8.500.inddIn Delia’s latest release, Love in the WINGS, a prayer team fights for the souls of their pastor, their church members, and their town. Satan is quite capable of sending dark spirits to mess with the minds of God’s people, but God’s army of messengers is bigger, better and stronger. He’s there. ALL the time.

About the Book:

Church secretary and praise team leader, Aria Robbins isn’t happy when she  has to work with the new youth minister. She also has to grin and bear it when he moves into the cottage next to hers at Heart’s Haven…but she doesn’t have to like him. Truth is, she’d be much happier if Corbin Bishop would take his charm and his big, fancy ideas right back to Austin where he belongs.

When a spiritual attack on Angel Falls lands Aria and Corbin on the battlefront as part of a team of prayer Warriors in God’s Service (WINGS), they must fight for their town, their church, and their pastor, and Aria sees Corbin in a whole new light.

But emotional scars from an unspeakable childhood have distorted Corbin’s acceptance of certain Scriptural truths, and Aria won’t trust her heart in the hands of a man whose faith is unsure. Aria wraps her prayer wings around him tightly. Will Corbin finally trust God to heal his soul?

About delialatham

DELIA LATHAM is a born-and-bred California gal, raised in a place called Weedpatch and currently living in the lovely mountain town of Tehachapi with her husband and a spoiled Pomeranian. She enjoys multiple roles as Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister and friend, but especially loves being a princess daughter to the King of Kings. She has a "thing" for Dr. Pepper, and loves to hear from her readers. Contact her through her website or send an e-mail to delia@delialatham.net.
This entry was posted in Authors, Doubt, Faith, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes God

  1. I love this, Delia. I was just reading in Psalm 39, written by David during a time of chastisement. He begins the psalm by saying–by determining within himself not to sin in what he says. He goes on to say, the more he thought about “it” (which I believe is the punishment he was going through at the time), the “hotter” or more upset he became. His answer to this inner angst? To put his hope in God (v. 7).

    I have two chronic illnesses, both of which can lay me out, and on good days, make normal life a bit of a struggle. It’s very easy for me to slip into poor me mode, but the moment I turn in that direction, the pull to despair grows stronger. I’ve learned I must be extra diligent with my thoughts and consistent with my praise. No matter what’s going on physically, I always have a reason to praise–for God’s ever present comfort; for His Word, which I can always turn to for strength and peace; for the promise of eternity when pain and sorrow will be no more; for the blessings He’s given. For His strength made perfect in my weakness and for His purpose, even in my illness.

    The last truth is one I camp out on. I believe God is sovereign, faithful, and good, even when things get bad, and because He is sovereign, I believe everything has a purpose. Therefore, I can keep walking, knowing He will perfect that which concerns me, and that He *will* use every tear and struggle for His glory.

  2. LoRee Peery says:

    I appreciated Jennifer’s comment.
    Delia, thank you, thank you, thank you. God’s timing is always precise. I don’t doubt Him but I can listen to that evil voice of doubt that digs away at the joy of my calling as a writer. Thanks to your post, I turned my eyes upon Jesus, looked full in His wonderful face, and told the enemy of doubt to get behind me.

    • delialatham says:

      LoRee, your comment made my day! It is knowing that God uses the words He gives me to bless others that makes the effort worthwhile. And knowing something He said through me encouraged you, in particular, makes it an even bigger blessing. Love you, my friend! (And by the way, that’s one of my favorite old songs. I remember it from way, waaaay back in my childhood.)

      • LoRee Peery says:

        What a difference a week can make. Now YOUR words made MY day. And I love you back. I was in my thirties before I ever heard that song. Now I sing it and a couple others each time I need to refocus my attention.

Leave a Reply

