The Dream: Letting Go by Eileen Rife

Hannah3A few months before my oldest daughter, Rachel, left for India as a single missionary gal in 2004, I had a dream. My little red-headed toddler was running across the lawn straight for the busy road. Cars were zooming this way and that. I ran after her, arms stretched out, reaching, grabbing desperately, but as is often the case in a dream, I could never quite get to her. At last, she plunged into the street. I knew for sure my precious baby would be hit and killed, but when the traffic cleared, I saw a lovely Indian woman clad in colorful sari on the other side of the road, stooping and holding my little Rachel. She was safe.

As God would have it, there have been many Indian “mamas” over the last few years who have taken Rachel under their wings. In addition, the Lord provided my girl with a godly husband only two months after arriving in India. Nathan, a third generation missionary kid who had returned to the States, sensed God leading him back to India to serve. While there, he met Rachel and they were married in June, 2005. Their love story inspired Book One, Journey to Judah, in my Born for India trilogy.Christmas 092

Through this account, God has affirmed Psalm 84:11 in my heart: “The Lord God is a sun and a shield; the Lord God gives grace and glory; no good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.”

Yet often, it is a daily challenge to embrace those words and live by them. One moment at a time, that’s all He asks as the journey continues . . .

What are you struggling to let go of right now? A child? A dream? Share with our readers so that we can all be encouraged to trust God, one step, one day at a time with our cherished children, hopes, and dreams.
~~
EileenRifeEileen Rife is the author of the Born for India trilogy inspired by her oldest daughter’s missionary call to India. She and her husband, Chuck, conduct marriage seminars in the states and overseas. One of Eileen’s chief delights is encouraging women to discover who they are in Christ and what part they play in His amazing story! http://www.eileenrife.com, http://www.eileen-rife.blogspot.com, http://www.amazon.com/author/eileenrife

One woman. One God. One passion. In a exotic culture of 7.5 million people and over 3 million gods, one woman’s resolve to make the journey results in an amazing story of the Lord’s protection and provision. Could love await her, even in India?

The novel that launched my fiction writing career. Based on my daughter's passion for India.

The novel that launched my fiction writing career. Based on my daughter’s passion for India.

About Jennifer Slattery

Novelist and speaker Jennifer Slattery, also writing as Jen Pheobus, uses humor, grace, and truth to inspire God's children to live abundant, Christ-centered lives. She does content editing for Firefly, a southern fiction imprint with Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, and is a regular contributor to Crosswalk.com; Internet Cafe Devotions; Faith, Friends and Chocolate; and manages the social media for Takin’ it to the Streets, a ministry that serves Omaha’s working poor and homeless. She’s placed in numerous writing contests and her work has appeared in numerous compilations, magazines, and e-zines.
This entry was posted in Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Dream: Letting Go by Eileen Rife

  1. delialatham says:

    Love this post, Eileen! I can’t even imagine sending a single daughter off to India, alone. That must have been so very hard for you. God always knows what He’s doing, and He always has a purpose, but that doesn’t make it easy for us to let go. I admire your ability to do so…and to create something beautiful out of the experience. You daughter must be so proud of the book she inspired her mother to write! 🙂

  2. Chuck and I prayed for and prepared our children from the get-go to serve the Lord wherever, however, whenever, so on the one hand, it was not so difficult to see them step into roles we trained them to fill. However, we are human, and mixed emotions abound. God has been so gracious to give us many sweet surprises over the years, some of which are grandchildren we can visit and who visit us. Our “Indian” daughter and family will be on furlough for a year coming up in June, so we’ll see them in “builk” over the next year. Our youngest daughter and family are preparing to serve in Thailand, so they are actually living with us while raising funds. She’s due with her second child in June. So, life is exciting right now at the ole Rife homestead. Our missionary house will hold 11 people, one of them a newborn. 🙂 God is indeed good.

  3. Beautiful post! I have a red head, too. 🙂 I had a tough time allowing her to go to Jamaica with our church’s mission team last summer. She’d gone on a mission trip before–with us. 🙂 It’s a different thing entirely to release her completely under someone else’s care.

    I’m not sure what I’m needing to let go now, except maybe everything. hahaha. Seriously, though, I am continually reminded of my need to surrender *everything*. Not that I do this well or consistently, but it’s my desire and my prayer.

  4. God honors your heart, Jennifer! By the way, all three of Rachel’s children are redheads. Her husband keeps holding out for a dark-haired baby, but I think they are likely done. 🙂

  5. Personally, I’m partial to red heads. 🙂

Leave a Reply

