Blessings from the Top of the Tree

Delia Latham
© 2008

(c) Can Stock Photo

(c) Can Stock Photo

It was a humdinger of a windstorm—unusually rough for around these parts. Not anything approaching tornado severity, but enough to knock down a few trees, tear off a bunch of roof tiles and stir up some pretty nasty allergies.

Given my husband’s severe lung problems, winds have become something to dread. They often bring on a week or so of breathing difficulty. Needless to say, we were more than a bit unhappy about the storm.

A couple of days later, however, Aunt Vera dropped by our place, both arms piled high with plastic grocery bags, all stuffed with pecans from the trees in her backyard.

I helped her unload the bounty onto my kitchen counter while she explained the unexpected gift. “They were all over my lawn, after that wind the other night. I couldn’t just let them lie there and go bad, when I know how much my nephew loves pecan pies.”

I chuckled. She’s known my husband, Johnny, all his life. The sweet lady is well aware of his ginormous sweet tooth.

(c) Can Stock Photo

(c) Can Stock Photo

All of the nuts within Aunt Vera’s reach had been harvested prior to the storm. The pecans now gracing my countertop came from the upper branches. “They would have rotted without that storm. I’m just not able to get to the ones up high.” She gave a little shake of her head and a wry twist of her lips. “I’m not as young as I used to be, you know.”

After Aunt Vera left, I looked at those three jam-packed plastic bags, stuffed full of potential pies and other delectable desserts—and I saw them in a whole new light. They were the fruit of the storm…blessings from the top of the tree.

So many good things in life are just beyond our reach. But God has a way of shaking them loose and raining them down all around us, even if He has to send a whirlwind to make it happen.

Thanks to Aunt Vera’s generous heart and simple wisdom, I now try to look at the storms of life through less jaded eyes.

During the blizzard, toppled trees and destruction to property fill our vision. Sometimes it’s difficult to look past the howling tempest, the blowing garbage, and the allergic reactions.

While the wind rages, it’s hard to remember that after the storm, God always sends a rainbow. After the winds, we reap the sweet-smelling, clean air and sunshine.

After He tries us, He showers us with good things… things that were previously out of our grasp.

Lord, help us to hold on and just survive the storm. When it’s over, You’ll shower us with blessings from the top of the tree.

Proverbs 10:6 – Blessings are upon the head of the just…

(c) Can Stock Photo

(c) Can Stock Photo

About delialatham

DELIA LATHAM is a born-and-bred California gal, raised in a place called Weedpatch and currently living in the lovely mountain town of Tehachapi with her husband and a spoiled Pomeranian. She enjoys multiple roles as Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister and friend, but especially loves being a princess daughter to the King of Kings. She has a "thing" for Dr. Pepper, and loves to hear from her readers. Contact her through her website or send an e-mail to delia@delialatham.net.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blessings from the Top of the Tree

  1. What a wonderful real-life story to illustrate that God often showers down blessings beyond our reach, and sometimes those blessings come through the storms in our lives. And now, how about a favorite recipe for pecan pie or other dessert? 🙂

    • delialatham says:

      Wonderful idea, Eileen! And since I’m NOT a cook or baker, how about we invite our readers to submit their favorite dessert recipe? 🙂 I’ll even draw a name from those who send recipes, and give away a copy of Love in the Wings, my latest Heart’s Haven eNovella.

  2. Terry Latham Williams says:

    Lol Delia I love this story! I thought I followed this blog a while back but was getting nothing on e-mail. I am glad Aunt Lottie shared it!! Back to pecan pies; if my brother was here he would tell you that I can not make a pecan pie! You either have to take a sledge hammer to it or it is runny! I have tried several times lol so I leave it to the experts!!

    • delialatham says:

      I can’t either, Terry…but Johnny does a great job. lol I don’t like nuts in my sweets, so he always makes a separate little “pie” that’s just the custard portion of a pecan pie…all for me. Gotta love that man! 🙂

Leave a Reply

